The Publishing Triangle Awards: Call for Submissions

From A Press Release

October 3, 2022

The Publishing Triangle, an American association of gay men and lesbians in the publishing industry, is now accepting nominations for its fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and trans/GV awards, given for books published between January 1 and December 31, 2022.

Entries must be submitted online. Payment is ideally done online at the same time via PayPal, but we also accept checks and money orders sent via the U.S. mail.

We will present nine awards to LGBTQ authors: the Bill Whitehead Award for Lifetime Achievement; the Randy Shilts Award for Gay Nonfiction; the Judy Grahn Award for Lesbian Nonfiction; the Audre Lorde Award for Lesbian Poetry; the Thom Gunn Award for Gay Poetry; the Edmund White Award for Debut Fiction; the Publishing Triangle Award for Trans and Gender-Variant Literature; The Joseph Hansen Award for LGBTQ Crime Writing; and the Betty Berzon Emerging Writer Award. The Ferro-Grumley Literary Awards Foundation presents its annual prize for LGBTQ fiction in conjunction with our awards ceremony, so you can submit candidates for that award as well.

All of these literary prizes include honorariums: $3000 for the Whitehead award; $1500 for the Berzon award; and $1000 each for White debut fiction, Ferro-Grumley fiction, nonfiction, poetry, trans/GV, and crime writing.

The Bill Whitehead Award for Lifetime Achievement, which is among the highest-paying awards in LGBTQ letters, does not have a formal submission process. The awards committee and the Whitehead judges compile a list of candidates.

For the other awards: Overall instructions, as well as guidelines and submissions forms are found at

The deadline for submissions is December 10, 2022. There is a submission fee of $40 per title per category, or $40 per Berzon submission.

A short-list of finalists will be announced in March 2023.

Because of continuing uncertainties around Covid-19 and the ever-evolving variants, no decision has been made yet about having an in-person awards ceremony. We do hope to be able to have such a celebration, but we will advise. Regardless, winners will be announced by May 2023.

If you have questions, please write